Hogwarts House Colors

After my oh-so-clean Sand chevrons, I wasn’t entirely sure where to go next…until my nephew popped up in the picture. We were talking about different things and he was throwing out ideas for my nails left and right. One stuck out in my head and I decided to give it a shot.

Hogwarts 1With the use of striping tape, quite a few colors, a movie interpretation, and a whole lot of patience, I ended up with a four-fingered Hogwarts House manicure. I went in the order the Sorting Hat sang in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s/Philosopher’s Stone with a minor tweak. Gryffindor first with scarlet and gold, then Hufflepuff with canary yellow and black, followed by Ravenclaw with blue and bronze–

Hogwarts 3Yeah. I found that I do not own a true bronze. Thankfully, Ravenclaw’s colors in the movies were blue and gray. I was able to do a swift save and claim they were movie colors without having to scrap the whole idea. Then, Slytherin last with green and silver. I started this manicure out with two coats of OPI’s My Boyfriend Scales Walls (only my favorite white in existence) and then busted out the old striping tape.

Hogwarts 2As you can see here, it’s not perfect. Pulling the striping tape off wasn’t the hard part. When filling in the rectangles closer to my cuticles, I dotted the polish on. Unfortunately, I did not wait long enough to apply a coat of Seche Vite and ended up with a few streaks. Thankfully, it isn’t as bad as it could have been. That black could have killed the entire nail.

Hogwarts ColorsColors used, from left to right (in this photo and on my nails) are OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls, OPI The Spy Who Loved Me, OPI Oy-Another Polish Joke!, Nicole by OPI Razzle Dazzler, OPI Need Sunglasses?, Essie Aruba Blue, L’Oreal Stroke of Midnight, Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Emerald City, and Sephora by OPI Social Climber. I loved using these colors, and as soon as I find the right bronze and some decals, I think I will be revisiting this design with a few extras to make it a complete Hogwarts manicure.

One thought on “Hogwarts House Colors

Thoughts?

