Gold Ruffian

Hi guys! I hope this post find you well. I’ve had a pretty good weekend and hopefully will have a great week. Today, I decided to take a break from Halloween manicures. We have recently received OPI’s Mariah Carey Holiday collections at work, so I decided to use one of those in a design.

SunThe colors I’ve used are OPI Ski Slope Sweetie and Golden Eye. Ski Slope is a beautiful white with gold shimmer from Mariah Carey’s Glitter holiday collection and Golden Eye is from last year’s Skyfall collection. I had completely forgotten how sparkly Golden Eye is! I actually had a customer ask me if it was foil. Apparently, his brother paints motorcycles for a living and has a gold foil paint that looks exactly like the polish! I actually had a hard time photographing this in sunlight, so the next pictures are in the shade.

Shade Closeup

Shade

This was my first successful attempt at a ruffian manicure and I’m quite pleased with how it turned out. My actual first attempt was a disaster, so trying again with glitter made it a little easier. Honestly, I would probable prefer a bigger contrast between the two colors. I think my next attempt will have Golden Eye at the base of my nail, and use a black or dark color for the top. Then maybe a matte coat? We’ll have to see.

Shade

Shade

I was really happy with the colors. It’s been way too hot in this state that I was just done with Halloween colors. It’s hard to have dark fall colors on your hands when it’s still 80 degrees outside. Hopefully, the temperature will start to drop soon, but until then, I think I’m going to stick to brighter colors.

Thoughts?

