e.l.f.’s Maleficent

I’m done! This is the fourth and final villain from e.l.f.’s collection, and I am happy to have it over. I enjoyed the challenge of using the colors and creating inspired manicures, but after four, I’m ready to move on. (Especially when I can’t pick out the colors myself! Doing Ursula without a purple really took a lot out of me.) I’ve actually saved my favorite villain for last. I love Maleficent! Out of the four villains, my favorites are definitely Maleficent and Cruella de Vil, but Maleficent takes the cake for being number one.

SunColors used are Bubble Gum Pink, Gina Girl, and Mod Mauve. For this manicure, I went for the stripes on her hat, and I think it came out alright. I was originally planning on making the stripes out of Bubble Gum Pink and Gina Girl with Mod Mauve as the two accent nails, but Gina Girl is a jelly! I was not expecting to see that, so I switched the two and this is what I ended up with.

CloseupI love the depth of the jelly and I still can’t believe how well those stripes came out. Striping tape has been a struggle for a while — I just couldn’t get perfect lines — and then this happened! I was extremely pleased with how clean they came out. And I love the color combination. While they aren’t colors I would have chosen (because I really don’t like pink), they worked well together! The mauve really helped tone down the pink, and it just fit.

ShadeI’m still going to have to get a hang of the jelly. It wasn’t perfect, but close enough for me to be okay with. I’m really just chalking it up to me not being familiar with jelly finishes. One of these days, I’ll get it right.

Thoughts?

