OPI Calendar: February

Hi all! Anyone watch the Super Bowl last night? While I was excited Seattle won, I felt bad for the Broncos. I was really hoping to have a better game, but what can you do? Renee Flemming nailed it! That was a wonderful National Anthem. They’ve done a good job of choosing people for that aspect these last couple years. I sure hope they keep it up.

Today, I have a Valentine’s manicure using the February colors from my OPI calendar.

Shade 1CalendarIn case there’s trouble reading that, colors are OPI’s Lincoln Park After Dark, Otherwise Engaged, and Meet Me on the Star Ferry. I wasn’t sure how Otherwise Engaged was going to go — as I’m not a fan of pinks — but I was surprised! It’s definitely a jelly, so it took quite a few coats to get it opaque, but I liked that splash of nude in the color.

CloseupWhat I really loved about this manicure was now the different finishes played. I went a day or two with just the base colors, and thought it was pretty meh, but when I added the darker contrast, it made the entire look.

Shade 2This is my first time doing a successful cloud-type manicure, and I’m quite happy with it. I learned the easiest way to do it is to have a ball of polish at the end of the brush and gently set it on the nail before dragging it down. I had to be careful to not let the brush touch so I could try for a rounded edge. I think this method would be easier with a smaller brush. OPI has that pro-wide brush (which I absolutely love), so I’m going to have to try this again a brand that has a smaller one.

BottleLet me know what you think! Hope you have a great week and I’ll see you Thursday!

Thoughts?

