Essie Too Taboo Neons Collection Swatches

Hey guys! I hope your Thursday is going well so far. Today, I have four of the six new Essie neons to share. I’ve been staring at them for about a week at work and finally broke down a couple days ago. I really am glad I did! While I don’t necessarily categorize them as actual neon nail polish, they’re bright for Essie and I was really happy to see more than just pink.

The polishes are supposed to be layered over white to help the color pop, and I’ve decided to show what it looks like layered and alone. In each swatch my pointer and ring finger have two coats over a white base, while my middle and pinkie have two coats over a clear base. Be sure to check out all of the colors! I’m going to include my thoughts on the formulas after the photos. With the exception of the last one, all of these photos are taking outside in shade.

The first one I have for you is Serial Shopper. I love this coral. It definitely needs a white base to pop. My photo is a little lenient on the clear base color. It looked quite sheer and more dusty than bright, but with the white to bounce off of, it reminded me of China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy. I love this color.

Essie Serial ShopperNext up is I’m Addicted. This is a gorgeous bright blue. As you can see, there’s not much of a difference between white base and clear base. I didn’t notice a difference in color or opacity between the two. This is an awesome pedicure color that I will definitely be rocking this summer.

Essie I'm Addicted SwatchFollowing that is Vices Versa. This is a lime green color that didn’t wash out my skin! I’m surprised it looked good — just not in these photos. I was definitely more worried about capturing the polish color than making sure my skin tone looked good. This one definitely needs a white base. You’ll be layering for days and never reach neon without it.

Essie Vices Versa SwatchLast one I have for you is Chills & Thrills. This color is the one I’ve been excited for since I saw the press release for the collection. I’m a sucker for purples, and this was definitely a color for me. Also another one that didn’t need a base color to make it pop. While I wouldn’t classify it as neon, it is a bright, darker purple. I’ve seen other swatchers call it blue, but I’m going to have to disagree with them. This one’s purple in my book.

Essie Chills & Thrills SwatchThis last color was the only one shot inside. It was hard to get this color to show up on film. Outside in sunlight and shade, it looked too light and dusty. Inside in natural lighting and flash, it looked blue. Even in shadow against the clear blue sky looked blue. On a whim, I stood in front of my kitchen window and got the picture above. Go figure.

Based on the colors alone, I love this collection. The two remaining colors in the collection, Too Taboo and Sittin’ Pretty, are also pretty colors, but just not for me. I don’t mind layering over white. Essie has always recommended a white base for their neons, so to expect something different this year doesn’t make any sense to me.

As for the formula, it’s tricky. I’ve seen some people call it thick and goopy, others not have a problem. I would agree to both sentiments. The formulas are definitely thick and were frustrating — especially over a semi-wet white base — but not too terrible that I couldn’t figure it out. It took a little bit of patience and top coat, but the colors came out fine.

Whew! This has been a long post! I didn’t think I had much to say, but I guess as soon as I started, it all came out. Well, I hope you have a wonderful day and I’ll see you later!

Thoughts?

