Comic Nails for OPI Calendar: August

Hey guys! Can you believe it’s August already? I know you’re hearing that from pretty much everyone. It just seems like yesterday I was painting the design for the January color scheme. Crazy how fast this year is going by. Today, I have the design for the August colors to share with you.

OPI That's Hot! Pink

The colors for this month are Need Sunglasses?That’s Hot! Pink, and Got Room for the Blues. I decided to throw in Alpine Snow and make a comic themed design, because I couldn’t figure out what else to do with these colors (besides a gradient of sorts).

I started with two coats of each color (I layered Need Sunglasses? over white), then added in the dots. Then, grabbing one of my nail brushes, I started painting in the “bubbles”. I did two different designs — the first one had a white base with colored dots, and I kept each nail the same color. Halfway through that design, I realized I should have used the colors for the base. So, here is attempt two.

OPI Need Sunglasses?

OPI Need Sunglasses?

OPI Need Sunglasses?

I topped it all with OPI’s Matte Top Coat. I’m quite pleased with how this design finally ended up turning out. Thoughts? Let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Comic Nails for OPI Calendar: August

Thoughts?

