31DC2014 Day 24: Inspired by a Book

Hey guys! I’m almost done with the challenge! I’m quite excited about that. Today is inspired by a book, and while I was sorely tempted in many different directions, I fell back to the book I had thought about first.

31DC2014The Chronicles of Narnia have been close to my heart for years — almost two decades now. I’ve read them countless times and they encompass so much of my childhood. When thinking about what to do, I realized that even though it’s not my favorite book of the series, the lantern in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is the one thing the symbolizes the series the best. To me, at least.

I started out with Essie Blanc, then added OPI Need Sunglasses? for the light. Then, I mixed Essie Truth or Flare with varying degrees of white polish and painted in the trees. Last was the lantern, done in Essie Licorice. I love how the background turned out. It looks like an actual painted background. The lantern needs a little bit of work, but I think that’s because I need to break down and invest in some quality brushes. One of these days.

The Lion the Witch and the WardrobeNarniaInspired by a BookWhat do you think? What are your favorite books? Have a great day and I’ll see you tomorrow!

Thoughts?

