OPI Fifty Shades of Grey Collection

Fifty Shades of GreyI am starting this year out with swatches of a collection and I cannot tell you how excited I am to share this. It has been years since OPI has made a non-sheer creme gray. They have made up for the absence with this collection.

Please keep in mind that the thoughts shared in this post are solely thoughts and opinions on the polish. I will not be sharing any of my thoughts pertaining to the books and the movie. I know I have spoken on books and movies in the past and probably will do so in the future, but this is not one of those times.

First up is Cement the Deal.

OPI Cement the DealThis is a beautiful, light gray with one of the best formulas I’ve ever worked with. It’s not streaky at all and glides onto the nail. This was two coats.

Next is Dark Side of the Mood.

OPI Dark Side of the MoodThis is a dark, charcoal gray that sometimes leans black in certain lighting. It’s a little thin, so my first coat was streaky, but the second coat evened everything out. I used two coats for the photo.

Third is Embrace the Gray.

OPI Embrace the GrayDon’t mind my middle finger. I hit my nail right after painting the last coat, so I tried to fix it, but there’s still a dent. Outside of that, this color is beautiful! It fits my skin tone better than Cement the Deal and I absolutely love it. This is two coats and applied perfectly.

My Silk Tie comes next.

OPI My Silk TieI was seriously surprised at this one. I thought it was going to be a normal metallic/foil polish, but it acted like a glitter. It’s almost sheer — taking three coats to become opaque. The first coat looked like a semi-sheer shimmer, and I really want to know what that would look like layered over another color. The brushstrokes are more noticeable in pictures.

Next is Romantically Involved.

OPI Romantically InvolvedI am not usually a red person. I usually stick to cool colors and tend to use warmer colors as accents in nail art. This red is absolutely beautiful and I wore it all weekend. It’s a muted warm red that slightly leans orange. I could not get over how much I loved it and it didn’t even stain my cuticles! I used three coats to completely hide my nail line.

Last is Shine for Me.

OPI Shine for MeAnother surprise. This is a silver glitter with blue specks. At first, I thought it was never going to become opaque. The silver base is really subtle in just one coat. However, it only took three thin coats to completely cover my nail. It dries with a subtle texture, but it’s not terribly noticeable. I used a top coat on my middle and pinkie nails, although the only difference is how it feels.

What do you think? I absolutely adore this collection and believe OPI has done a wonderful job creating it. My favorite is a tie between Embrace the Gray for the color and Cement the Deal for the formula.

2 thoughts on “OPI Fifty Shades of Grey Collection

  1. Pocket Money Polishes says:

    These all look lovely on you and the swatches are great. I am passing on this collection purely because I just don’t think I will get the wear out of these colours and own waay too much polish (I know, blasphemy). I do think OPI did pretty good with this collection though and I think it’s got great universally flattering tones in those greys.

Thoughts?

