Matte Flakies

OPI Cement the DealHey all! I meant to join this Weekly Nail Art Challenge on Instagram, but missed the first date. Whoops! I figured I’ll just post the first one late and then go on from there. The monthly theme is matte and last Friday’s theme was flakies.

For this look, I used OPI Cement the Deal, Embrace the Gray, and Dark Side of the Mood for the base. I blobbed the colors on there, then took a plastic bag and pressed them together, giving it this marble-smokey look. Then I grabbed Finger Paints Abstract Attraction and dabbed that over and topped it all with a matte top coat.

This looks so much better in photos than in real life. As soon as I was done, I was severely unimpressed. The flakes didn’t quite show up, so it wasn’t what I thought it would look like. I took the photos just to have something to show and I am so happy I did. I’m going to have to give this another try — but pick cremes that have more contrast as well as a flakie that is more visible.

OPI Embrace the GrayOPI Dark Side of the MoodMatte FlakiesWhat do you think? I think using different blues, a little bit of black, and a gold flake would have it look like a turquoise. Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Matte Flakies

  1. Liz A-Mani-Maniac says:

    Right now, this is my favorite technique. Fast, simple, and almost always stunning. I usually use colors that are noticeably different when I do this, but I have to say I absolutely LOVE the smokey look of using 3 greys that are close to one another. I’m glad you decided to take photos of this too!

Thoughts?

