Neon Leopard

Neon GradientSometimes, the design you have in your head comes out on your nails. Those are good times, but they don’t happen often. Often, what you see in your head is similar to what comes out, but not exactly. Some of these times, you like it anyway and it’s a success. However, there’s another event.

It’s what happened here.

China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy

I wanted a neon gradient. Unfortunately, I don’t have an opaque neon yellow, so I settled with coral (China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy) and green (China Glaze I’m With the Lifeguard). The gradient worked (in the most basic sense of the word). I started with a white base (China Glaze White on White), painted my makeup sponge, and went at it until I had a green and orange mess all over my cuticles.

Successful gradient, not quite so successful color combination.

*sigh*

It was late, I was tired, I had to work early the next morning, my bed was calling my name, but. But. I knew that if I went to work with that gradient on my nails as is, I was going to end up peeling the entire thing off. With a peel off base coat, not a huge problem. Except I used a normal base coat, one that works really well, so that would have been a wonderful recipe for peeling, weak nails for the next few months.

China Glaze I'm With the LifeguardSo. Freehand design it is. Only, what to do? A couple ideas floated around in my brain before mini leopard print took route. I liked that idea. It was simple, it was quick, and it wouldn’t involve having to clean out a brush. (I was tired.) So I grabbed the first black I could find in my polish stash (OPI Black Onyx), a super tiny dotting tool, and went to work.

Two nails got the full treatment and then it was getting really hard to ignore the voice of my super comfy pillows. So, I decided to “hide” the part of the gradient I didn’t like with a sloping strip of mini spots. Finished both hands (yeah, that’s how much I did not like this gradient), waited an extra ten minutes because there was no way I was going to deal with streaking that black, and topped the entire thing with two generous coats of top coat.

Nail FailCan you believe I still don’t like the result? It looks much better in photos, promise. Actually, other people loved the design. I got quite a few compliments when running errands the next day after work.

But personally? In real life? I was so happy to soak my nails in acetone the next day.

Thoughts?

