Rainbow Stripes

Rainbow Nail ArtHappy Friday! Anyone have plans this weekend? We’re driving south a couple hours to go so the Ft. Lauderdale Renaissance Faire tomorrow. Should be fun! Today’s nails are for the Weekly Nail Art Challenge. Today’s prompt was stripes and the month’s theme is rainbow. I was inspired by this @polishedlely design, although hers are still so much better than mine.

Oh I used so many polishes. So many. I started with a base of OPI Alpine Snow to make coverage easier and then slowly added strips of color to look like a gradient effect. Colors for the rainbow are all OPI and they are:

Pointer: Lost My Bikini in MolokiniDo You Have This Color in Stockholm?OPI…Eurso EuroI Saw…U Saw…We Saw…Warsaw.
Middle: Amazon…AmazOFFJade is the New BlackGargantuan Green GrapeI Just Can’t Cope-acabana.
Ring: Need Sunglasses?Hot & SpicyCajun ShrimpOver & Over A-Gwen.
Pinky: Miami BeetAnti-BleakPamploma Purple, and Hey Baby.

The colors on my thumb are just a combination of my pinky and pointer shades. After getting the strips of color down, I topped the rainbow with a coat of China Glaze Fairy Dust. (I actually don’t own an OPI similar. It was weird to discover that.) Then added the gloop with OPI Black Onyx.

If I were to change how I did this, I would have definitely chosen a different black. My bottle of Black Onyx needs to be replaced, so the thickness of the polish made it so difficult to work with. I also would have chosen my rainbow differently. I realized after it was all done that I needed lighter purples, blues, and greens. And made sure my colors had a bigger difference.

Slime Nail Art

OPI Nail Art

Rainbow Nails

There you have it. Let me know what you think!

Thoughts?

