April Nail Art Challenge Day 1: Autism

Hey guys! Quick turnaround on the first challenge post. Today is for autism awareness. I have never personally be touched by this, but know many people who have. I went for a rainbow gradient and painted on puzzle pieces.

OPITo be honest, this is a fail.

I am not happy with this manicure at all. I feel the puzzle pieces don’t look like puzzles, and I tried to make a mistake on my ring finger into a ribbon silhouette. I wish I had gotten a shot of the gradient underneath the black mess, because I liked it much better.

OPII used a butt-load of colors. I stared with OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls for the base to make the colors pop easier. Then, I grabbed as many OPI cremes as I could and went to town. I’m going to try listing them from right to left.

Pinkie: I’m Not Really A Waitress, Over & Over A-Gwen, and Hot & Spicy.
Ring: Hot & Spicy, In My Back Pocket, and Need Sunglasses?
Need Sunglasses?, Gargantuan Green Grape, and Jade is the New Black.
Index: Jade is the New BlackSki Teal We Drop, and Yodel Me On My Cell.
Thumb: Yodel Me On My Cell, Yoga-ta Get This Blue!, and Tomorrow Never Dies.

I topped everything with China Glaze Fairy Dust, which I thought would have been a great idea but didn’t like it that much. I love it over the lighter colors, but not so much the darker end of the spectrum.

OPIWhat do you think? I hope this isn’t a foreshadowing of the rest of this challenge. I would love to have some designs I’m proud of.

One thought on “April Nail Art Challenge Day 1: Autism

Thoughts?